top of page
Search

The Naked Wilders

Updated: Aug 2, 2023

Who are the Free Wilders?

Well, if you join us for a section of the ride the you are a Free Wilder 😁 clothed or unclothed, whatever you feel most comfortable with.


Hello! I'm Colin. I'm a wild food and mushroom forager but by trade I'm a woodworker. I make rustic structures like roundhouses with reciprocal roofs.

Nature connections is my thing, I work with lots of groups, community groups and friendship groups who are keen to learn and understand the nature around us.

I've also spent a significant time in my career as a cycle instructor, teaching safe riding strategies and promoting cycling as a tool for the future.

This period of history that we've just lived through has taught us about values. What do we value? Who do we value? How do we value ourselves? Strip away the office regime and the need to drive to the city in a nice car and what we are left with is family, friends and the nature on our doorstep. Everyone discovered wild places on their doorstep that they hadn't known were there and these friends, family and nature connections were what we all cling onto for our wellbeing.

During the pandemic I said that when this is over I'm going to plant trees and dance naked. We'll, here I am, about to ride a thousand miles naked to spread the message Rewild Britain. And, I'm honoured that I can do this this year. What better thing could I possibly do in 2022?

I'm looking forward so much to meeting all the people I'll meet and riding with them and dancing with them when we celebrate.


Photo by Mart Williams Photo Images.


Hello I'm Sadie.

I live on the outskirts of the Peak District.

I'm currently studying Wildlife Conservation at University. This is the perfect mixture of science based and practical study. I am fascinated by natural science and understanding the environment. I am also learning the practical methods surrounding the conservation and restoration of our natural environment. I am incredibly passionate about carrying this into my own career.

In my free time I can usually be found in the woods somewhere! I love to be immersed in nature. It's when I'm at my happiest. I love to camp, wild swim and take pictures which I am also expanding on in my course. I'm also a wild food forager. I forage mushrooms & plants with which I often make homemade goodies!

I love being naked in nature and find I connect with my surroundings on a much deeper level. I feel total freedom and joy. All the pressures and expectations of life melt away and you are just you. All that matters is being.

I've had social anxiety most of my life and recently started to venture into being naked in public which I've found to pretty much eliminate the anxieties!

I'll talk about this at a later stage

I'm hoping that sharing my journey will help others in their own journey of self discovery, finding confidence and overcoming anxieties. I'm very passionate about helping others reconnect with themselves and with nature.

Picture is foraging for samphire on the mudflats on the NW coast modelling the mudflat swimwear range


Hi, I'm Neil, I'm in my early 30s and live in Cheshire. I'm not an active conservationist but I believe in the benefits of nature for physical and mental health. I find some peace when I shut off the busy real world, and only have to think about where I'll pitch my tent that evening. I've been on remote and challenging expeditions all over the world, which is my way to properly reset from busy city job, but I feel equally happy walking through the woods or setting my bivvy bag down next to a local river for a night under the stars (or, more honestly, rain clouds!). I grew up feeling a lot of shame about my enjoyment of nudity, and it wasn't until I was in my mid to late 20s that I started expressing it more openly, mostly due to the support and understanding of my long-term girlfriend. I'm not one to shy away from difficult situations but 'coming out' to my parents a couple of years ago was a really hard conversation for me. I now live mostly naked with around 20 businesses in my local area happy for me visit clothes free. If you've seen or heard of a naked fell runner in the Peak District then it's probably me, as I try to get out in the hills several times a week. I've toyed with attempting LEJOG for about 5 years now, but never quite committed to it. I've got plenty of expedition experience, but none on a bicycle, so it seems a great new thing to have a bash at. Planning a 'staycation' like this seems the perfect solution to Covid travel uncertainties. Photo is from a mountaineering expedition to Kyrgyzstan. Functionality is the main point of clothing to me - it was very cold and so I'm in a big coat!



Hi, I'm Hannah (Hannah-Elizabeth Teoh) and I'm a classical pianist. Like Neil, I'm not an active environmentalist, but that's the thing about the rewilding mission - anyone can be on board with its ideals. I grew up in New Zealand and when I first moved to London I somewhat naively imagined that outside the city were vast stretches of Robin Hood forest - it wasn't until I started travelling around the UK that I realised just how little wild landscape there is left. The land felt heavy and tired under the weight of all the buildings and roads and fences. And when I returned to London I felt claustrophobic knowing that that the city I lived in was itself hemmed in by more and more city. Although I know little about conservation it seems to me that the desire to return at least a fraction of this land to nature can't be anything but a good thing.

On this note, perhaps our social conventions could be also benefit from a bit of 'rewilding'! I firmly believe that if a behaviour isn't hurting anyone then there is no reason to demand its justification. I think the world would be a better place if more of our 'Why?'s became 'Why not?'s, and I'm a dedicated proponent of the 'gratuitous' flouting of social conventions towards this end.

Growing up, my family was very casual about being naked. I spent much of my time as a toddler running around sans garment in the summertime and as I grew older I just didn't develop the usual inhibitions regarding nudity. It baffles me when people are bothered by other people being nude. Although I probably won't be doing much of LEJOG unclothed myself, primarily because I'm usually cold!

I love taking on anything challenging and LEJOG is one of the most exciting (and daunting) challenges I've set myself yet. I'm thrilled that this personal mission can contribute to one of broader significance!



376 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page